Shantae Fans Portal
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Beta readers?

2 posters

Go down

Beta readers? Empty Beta readers?

Post by ZombieWolf-Girl Sun Nov 09, 2014 4:36 am

Yup, I have a few stories for both Shantae and other games.

Only problem is, that I don't really have anyone to check my writing for mistakes. I used to have a friend read my stories, but now I'm just checking my stories myself, and the type of reviews (or lack of them) makes me think I'm doing something wrong. Can anyone lend a helping hand?

I'm still new to this writing game, so my writing isn't at a pro's level yet (darn XD). But what I think I need help in particularly is

• Pacing (Did the story start getting slow at a certain point? Did I just skip over something? Should I cut something out?)
  • Grammar (I don't really think this is problem for me, as I run my story through a spelling and grammar checker, but a reader said it "needed work" [and never told me where I messed up, btw. XD] The only thing that could become a problem is passive voice, but that's all that comes to mind.)
  • Characterization (are the characters interesting? Do you care about what they're doing? Do you wonder why they do what they do?

But of course, if you see any other kind of mistake, don't hesitate to tell me! Smile

And I have a few other questions:

• Would you be interested in beta reading non-Shantae related stories?
  • Which method in sending the text files be more efficient? Through sta.sh? Or by email?
  • What do you think about a crossover story between Shantae and another game franchise?
  • ...Is putting crushed peppermint into cookie dough a weird idea? (Seriously, my dad thinks I'm crazy for suggesting that. I found pre-mixed peppermint dough at the store and bought it. I hope it tastes good....

...And that's all I have for now. Any feedback is really appreciated! Extra Smile